Skip to main content
The '''University of St Andrews''' (informally known as '''St Andrews University''' or simply '''St Andrews'''; abbreviated as '''St And''', from the Latin language|Latin ''Sancti Andreae'', in post-nominals) is a public research university in St Andrews, Fife, Scotland. It is the List of oldest universities in continuous operation|oldest of the four ancient universities of Scotland and the third oldest university in the English-speaking world (following Oxford University|Oxford and Cambridge University|Cambridge). St Andrews was founded between 1410 and 1413, when the Avignon Pope|Avignon Antipope Benedict XIII issued a papal bull to a small founding group of Augustinian clergy. St Andrews is made up from a variety of institutions, including three constituent colleges (United College, St Andrews|United College, St Mary's College, St Andrews|St Mary's College,...
Native name| image_name = University of St Andrews coat of arms.svg
Image altUniversity of St Andrews shield
Latin nameUniversitas Sancti Andreae apud Scotos
MottoEver to Excel|ΑΙΕΝ ΑΡΙΣΤΕΥΕΙΝ
(AIEN ARISTEUEIN){{cite web|title=University coat of arms|url=|accessdate=10 September 2013}}
Motto langgrc
Mottoeng''Ever to Excel''
''Ever To Be The Best''
Established1410–1413{{cite web|title=History of the University|url=|accessdate=10 September 2013}}
Closed| type = Public university|Public research university / Ancient university
EndowmentPound sterling|£56.8m {{small|(as of 31 July 2015)}}{{cite web | url = | title= Reports and Financial Statements of the University Court for the year to 31 July 2015 | accessdate = 26 December 2014 | format = Portable Document Format|PDF | publisher = University of St Andrews| page = 31}}
Budget| chancellor = Sir Menzies Campbell|The Lord Campbell of Pitteenweem
share Share
favorite Favorite


TOPIC atoz
up-solid down-solid